WhatsApp updated its policy on 9th August 2022 and claimed to provide more layers of protection to its users with the new update in the policy. There will be advanced control over the messages by the users making things easier. These changes include:
The group chat option on WhatsApp is helpful for businesses and families. Sometimes the experience could be more pleasing, leading to leaving the group. But what happens after you leave the group? Private messages from group members to ask why you left the group.
Isn't it annoying? Don't worry because with the new update of WhatsApp, you can leave the group silently without any notification to other members. Only the group admin will know about your exit.
Whatsapp is used both for business and private purposes, which sometimes creates inconvenience. You may want to use WhatsApp privately, and your boss will see you online. You'll get a direct message about your project's progress.
Now you can control this by changing your WhatsApp settings. You can select the contacts with whom you want to share your online status.
In 2021 WhatsApp introduced a new feature of 'view once.' Using this, a user could send a video or image that disappears once it is opened. But more protection was needed for security and privacy purpose. People started taking screenshots of one-time view photographs.
To address the issue, WhatsApp edited another extra feature associated with the 'view once.' Now no user can take screenshots of such images, which means that a photograph will be only viewed once and then deleted from the receiver device.
Personal data, users' IP addresses, phone numbers, and even the activity were to be shared. This announcement was published on the company's blog, where it clarified that it would not access the user's private messages. They claimed that 'WhatsApp was built on a simple idea: what you share with your friends and family stays between you.
So it was clear that there was misinformation spreading around that WhatsApp would no longer be safe to use. Still, it was undeniable that user preferences would be used for marketing purposes.
According to the 2021 WhatsApp policies, the user data is shared with different companies to help them target the audience boosting their businesses. The main actions that could be taken by those companies regarding user data include the following:
Display relevant ads related to the users' needs
Help with completing transactions and other purchases
Advancement in the security and delivery system of the companies
Suggesting connecting with new groups, friends, and companies
For this, you can consider using an app like PrivacyHawk, which helps individual consumers keep track of their privacy and limits information sharing across all their devices and accounts.